entete_int_06.jpg

Self-identification

Aboriginal self-identification is voluntary and confidential. It represents an opportunity for students and families to identify with the ancestry of their First Nations, Métis or Inuit heritage. You do not need to have an Indian Status, Métis Citizenship or Inuit Identification Number card to self-identify. You just need to have native roots.

Self-identification helps students to fully construct their identity as Francophone and Aboriginal. It provides an inclusive learning environment where the cultures, traditions and perspectives of Indigenous peoples are visible and valued.

The Board encourages its students and staff to self-identify. To do this, just fill out a short form. So far, over 390 of our students with Indigenous ancestry have self-identified.

Why?

  • To help students fully build their identity as Francophone and Indigenous
  • To provide an inclusive learning environment where the cultures, traditions and perspectives of Indigenous peoples are visible and valued
  • To enable the Grandes Rivières District Catholic School Board to better determine the choice of resources and to ensure the continued integration of the cultures, traditions and perspectives of Indigenous peoples in our schools.
  • To improve and maintain relationships with Indigenous communities

For more information, please see the policies regarding student self-identification et self-identification of staff members.

For any questions or requests for additional information, please contact Ms. Angèle Beaudry, responsible for the First Nations, Métis and Inuit file:

entete_int_02.jpg

Auto-identification

L'auto-identification autochtone se fait de façon volontaire et confidentielle. Elle représente une occasion pour les élèves et les familles de s’identifier dans l’ascendance de leur héritage des Premières Nations, des Métis ou des Inuit. Il n’est pas nécessaire de posséder une carte de statut d’Indien, de citoyenneté de Métis ou de numéro d’identification d’Inuit pour s’auto-identifier. Il suffit d’avoir des racines autochtones.

L'auto-identification aide l'élève à construire pleinement son identité comme francophone et autochtone. Elle permet d'offrir un milieu d'apprentissage inclusif où les cultures, les traditions et les perspectives des peuples autochtones sont visibles et valorisées.

Le Conseil encourage ses élèves et ses membres du personnel à s'auto-identifier. Pour ce faire, il suffit de remplir un court formulaire. Jusqu'à présent, plus de 390 de nos élèves ayant une ascendance autochtone se sont auto-identifiés.

Pourquoi ?

  • Pour aider les élèves à construire pleinement leur identité comme francophone et autochtone
  • Pour offrir un milieu d'apprentissage inclusif où les cultures, les traditions et les perspectives des peuples autochtones sont visibles et valorisées
  • Pour permettre au Conseil scolaire catholique de district des Grandes Rivières de mieux déterminer le choix de ressources et d’assurer la continuité de l’intégration des cultures, des traditions et des perspectives des peuples autochtones dans nos écoles.
  • Pour améliorer et maintenir des relations avec les communautés autochtones

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter les politiques concernant l'auto-identification des élèves et l'auto-identification des membres du personnel.

Pour toute question ou demande d'information supplémentaire, veuillez communiquer avec Madame Angèle Beaudry, responsable du dossier des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuit :